I’ve heard from almost every one of my Chilean friends and, luckily, they are all okay. And unlike a ditzy CNN reporter, I’ll refrain from using the cliché, “But they’re shaken up.” (Oh, CNN reporters and their ridiculous flubs…)

But seriously, I’m actually very upset about the 8.8 quake in Chile and my heart (my real, beating one and not my empty, tin e-heart) goes out to everyone in that country right now. I know I only lived there for a short while, and sure, maybe I even mocked it once or twice, but, really, I loved it. And I still love it. I love it so much that I wait for the day I can return to explore more of its wonderful cities and beautiful countryside.

But more pressingly, I’m waiting to get an update from one of my former professors, whose parents in the South are still unaccounted for: Estoy rezando por tu y tu familia.

Woo-hoo! Just minutes after I posted this, I got word that her parents are safe and sound. Phew.

Fuerza Chile! Estoy pensando sobre todo el país y por una recuperación rápida! Besos a todos!

